Presentation General resources Needs Response Offers Field news Return
to
PFEDA
News on-line
Who's who
Organizations' field activities

Horn of Africa :
an on-going humanitarian crisis

A major humanitarian crisis is looming in the Horn of Africa: severe drought in Ethiopia and in neighbouring countries (view WFP maps of drought affected areas : Horn of Africa, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya), Eritrea-Ethiopia conflict with its flow of refugees and Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), floods in Somalia, ... As stated by the last UN appeal, more than 13 millions persones are now at risk. All energies must be mobilized as soon as possible. Field interventions have to be forecasted, coordinated and given an effective and clear support from now on. In this respect, Internet offers new and unchallenged opportunities of reactivity and interactivity.

We propose to call on PFEDA's services for this purpose. On these "Horn of Africa on-line" pages, you will find different services to which we invite you to participate :

1. The Information page presents general facts and figures about Ethiopia and the Horn of Africa (see : General resources and News on-line). Implementing partners (local and overseas) are listed, with their detailed address (see : Who's who) and actvities (see : Organizations' field activities).

2. Products and services Exchange. On the "Needs" page, you can track the current needs and the corresponding response of donors (supplied products and services are listed on the "Response" page). You may identify thus the gaps and the supplementary efforts which are still to be supported. On the "Offers" page, we try to put field workers in direct touch with individuals, companies or organizations offering available skills or goods.

3. The "Field news" page presents reports as they were forwarded to PFEDA by implementing organizations.

All theses pages are still under construction. We absolutely need your collaboration in order to update and share these information. Please, send us any relevant information :
----- either by email at : pfedaatuniv-lille1.fr
----- or by Fax at : (33) 3.28.76.74.01, attention Mr. Dominique Bounie

Présentation Ressources Internet Besoins Réponse Offres Nouvelles du terrain Retour
à
PFEDA
Nouvelles en ligne
Who's who
Activtés de terrain des organisations

Corne de l'Afrique:
une crise humanitaire en cours

Une crise humanitaire majeure est imminente dans la Corne de l'Afrique : sécheresse sévère en Ethiopie et dans les pays limitrophes (visionnez les cartes du PAM sur les zones touchées par la sécheresse : Corne de l'Afrique, Djibouti, Erythrée, Ethiopie, Kenya), conflit entrel'Erythrée et l'Ethiopie avec son flot de réfugiés et de déplacés, innondations en Somalie, ... Un rapport récent de l'ONU (Appel à contributions de l'ONU) estime à plus de 13 millions le nombre de personnes en situation de risque. Toutes les énergies doivent être mobilisées au plus vite. Les interventions sur le terrain doivent être programmées, co-ordonnées et recevoir un soutien efficace et clair dès à présent. A cet égard, Internet offre des possibilités nouvelles et inégalées en termes de réactivité et d'interactivité.

Nous proposons de mettre PFEDA à contribution dans cette optique. Sur les pages d' "Ethiopie en-ligne", vous trouverez différents services auxquels nous vous invitons à participer :

1. La page d'Informations présente différentes données sur l'Ethiopie et la Corne de l'Afrique (voir : Ressources Internet et Nouvelles en-ligne). Les partenaires impliqués (locaux ou expatriés) sont listés, avec le détail de leurs adresses (voir : Who's who) et de leurs activités (voir : Activtés de terrain des organisations).

2. Bourse aux produits et services. Sur la page "Besoins", vous pouvez suivre l'état des besoins actuels et des réponses apportées par les donnateurs (les produits et services fournis sont repris sur la page "Réponse"). Vous pouvez ainsi identifier les manques et les efforts supplémentaires qu'il reste encore à fournir. Sur la page"Offres" nous essayons de mettre en relation les intervenants de terrain et les individus, sociétés et organisations proposant des compétences ou produits.

3. La page "Nouvelles du terrain" présente différents rapports tels qu'ils nous ont été transmis par des organisations en place sur le terrain.

Toutes ces pages sont encore en cours de construction. Nous avons absolument de votre aide pour mettre à jour puis partager ces informations. Envoyez-nous S.V.P. toute information qui pourrait nous intéresser :
----- soit par email à : pfedaatuniv-lille1.fr
----- soit par Fax à : (33) 3.28.76.74.01, à l'attention de Mr. Dominique Bounie